Beadle County Treasurer: Jacque
Beadle County Deputy:
Office Administrator: Shelly
Office Administrator: Monica
450 3rd St. SW
Huron, SD 57350
450 3rd St SW, Ste #101
Huron, SD 57350
Phone: (605) 353-8405
Fax: (605) 353-8406
The treasurer receives and accounts for all money belonging to the county. The treasurer collects real estate and mobile home taxes, provides information regarding real estate taxes, manages county investments, and handles vehicle titles and licensing.
Property Tax Collection
When people think of county revenues they often think of property taxes, which account for the majority of revenue in county budgets. The treasurer, as the tax collector is responsible for collecting all property taxes for the county, cities, school districts and any other political district authorized to levy real estate taxes.
The county treasurer’s primary duty is to manage all county funds. Because the treasurer receives money from other county offices, they are responsible for investing that money to help generate more money.
In South Dakota, the county treasurer is responsible for issuing motor vehicle titles, licenses, registrations, and recording liens. Although the Division of Motor Vehicles is the central state office for maintaining accurate motor vehicle records, it is the county treasurer who enters the vehicle information into the central database. This vehicle registration information is not only important to counties, but also other state agencies as well as your local police and sheriff’s offices. Vehicle licensing is an important responsibility and necessary for local governments. The money generated from licensing helps maintain your local roads and bridges.
Vehicle Registration and Licensing
Registration is on a staggered licensing system based on the first letter of the owner’s last name. Vehicle owners must provide either the South Dakota driver’s license number or Social Security number of all registered owners on the title before the license may be renewed.
South Dakota residents have 30 days from the date of purchase of a new or used motor vehicle to transfer title into their name. A penalty of $1 per week up to 26 weeks will be assessed for late transfers. The penalty for a transfer after 26 weeks is $50. In addition, interest and penalties will apply to the 3% motor vehicle excise tax.
In lieu of sales and use taxes, a 3% excise tax is imposed on most motor vehicle transactions unless exempt. The excise tax is based on the purchase price of the motor vehicle listed on the bill of sale, purchase order or sales contract. In some instances, older vehicles may be subject to excise tax, but, currently, all motor vehicles 11 years old or newer are taxed, regardless of purchase price. Credit is given for trade-ins.
Refer to the table below to determine which month your vehicle licenses will expire.
License Renewal System
January: A, B
February: C,D, E
March: F,G, J
July: M, N
August: P, Q, R
November: T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z
All Commercial Licenses, Boat Licenses, and Snow Mobile Licenses will now be due at staggered times throughout the year the same as regular licenses.
First Half due by April 30
Second Half due by October 31
Deadlines for Freeze on Assessments – April 1st
Deadline for Sales or Property Tax Refund – July 1st
Visa Card and Master Card will be accepted at the counter for property tax payments. Visa Card and Master Card will be accepted at the counter for motor vehicle transactions .
NO Credit Card transactions will be taken over the phone.
Department of Public Safey Driver License website Use this website for information on the Drivers License Exam Stations or call 1-800-952-3696. The Exam Station is a state office and not a Beadle County office.
Beadle County Treasurer’s Office staff